European Railway Agency

The European Railway Agency (ERA) is responsible for monitoring and strengthening rail safety and interoperability throughout Europe.

The organization was formally established in 2004 by the European Regulation no. 881/2004, where are describe the Agency's tasks, structure and working methods with the railway sector representatives. The agency is based in two locations in France: the headquarters is in Valenciennes and the premises for international meetings and conferences is in Lille.

Headquarters address Valenciennes

Conferencing Centre address Lille

Agency postal address

120, rue Marc Lefrancq
FR 59307 Valenciennes Cedex - France

Espace International
299, Boulevard de Leeds
59777 Lille - France

BP 20392
FR-59307 Valenciennes Cedex - France


Phone: + +33 327 096-500

Fax: +33 327-334 065



The Management Board shall elect a Chairperson. The Management Board shall be composed of the representatives of each Member State (representatives of Latvia - P.Markēvičs, Director of the Railway Department of the Ministry of Transport, and L.Gailīte, Head of the Development Department of the State Railway Technical Inspectorate), four representatives of the European Commission and six representatives of the railway organizations. The Management Board is part of the administrative and management structure of the Agency. The Executive Director shall direct the work of the Agency.


The work of the European Railway Agency shall be governed by:

14.06.2018 COMMISSION IMPLEMENTING REGULATION (EU) 2018/867 of 13 June 2018 laying down the rules of procedure of the Board(s) of Appeal of the European Union Agency for Railways

25.05.2018 COMMISSION IMPLEMENTING REGULATION (EU) 2018/764 of 2 May 2018 on the fees and charges payable to the European Union Agency for Railways and their conditions of payment

26.5.2016 REGULATION (EU) 2016/796 of THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT AND OF THE COUNCIL of 11 May 2016 on the European Union Agency for Railways and repealing Regulation (EC) No 881/2004